blank

I’m coming up blank.

It’s been that kind of week. The sky, the ground, everything around me is white, like the computer screen on which I should be writing a compelling blog post. It’s been a week, and I’ve been wracking my brain, trying to come up with something pertinent to write about.

But my mind is blank. So the blog is too….

I don’t really believe in “writer’s block,” that condition writers claim that prevents them from writing. I’ve found writing to be more of a discipline, and have noticed that once I commit to doing it, the writing is the easy part. I’d say I’ve more often been struck with “thinker’s block,” which turns my brain all mushy and makes me stare excessively.

So today I just decide to show up, to start writing, and that Big White Page in my brain started to fill up. It occurred to me that sometimes life is like that – not just for writers, but for everybody. Sometimes we don’t know what to say, or to think. We’re just blank. And that’s OK.

God likes a blank canvas. Look at the cool stuff he did at the start of creation. If I wipe the slate clean, he can put something fresh on it.

These winter months, all white and gray and boring and blank, are a great time to allow God to work in and on us. I’ve decided to give the emptiness to Him, and see what He “writes.”

I imagine I’ll be surprised – and amazed – at the colorful things he comes up with.

4 thoughts on “blank

  1. I think it is this time of year: The white snow, the sunless cloudy days, no Christmas to look forward to. I felt especially listless this morning after a restless night of not sleeping well . Then a name popped into my head, George Bailey, our hero. I don’t know why, he’s actullay more your icon than mine but I couldn;t get him out of my consciousness. But I did get the message from him. No matter what is around you, no matter how boring or daunting you only need to change one thing to make it all different, your attitude. I already feel better knowing it is me who really has control of my situtations if I just put my mind to it. I think I might go to a play tonight. Or just even run over to Aldies just to get out of the house. They might have something new I could whip up for supper. My husband is calling me, he doesn’t believe there is anything important I could be doing on the computer. I might even have an interesteding comverstation with him. Who knows? I’m going to go look out the window and see if there is a rainbow. You never know!

  2. Oh man. This is EXACTLY how I felt all week. Definitely thinker’s block combined with a wee bit of procrastination (that is my big “sin”!).

    God definitely helped me out with some of my writing though today. He filled me up and hopefully my words will fill someone else up. That’s what blogging is all about, right?

  3. Be still and know that I am God. Sometimes it’s just that simple. Some people say, “I don’t hear from God” but maybe they just haven’t been still long enough to LISTEN. And sometimes just the act of being still and KNOWING is enough. So enjoy those quiet “blank” times and just enjoy the KNOWING. :0)

Leave a comment