give us this day

…our daily bread.

Once, I got the idea to really pray the Lord’s Prayer. Not just say the words by rote, as I’d done hundreds – no, thousands – of times before. This time, I’d say the prayer slowly, really taking in the meaning of the words. I intended to spend an hour on this spiritual experiment, relishing each sentence, parsing each phrase, gleaning inspiration from every word.

Then I got hung up.

“Give us this day our daily bread.”

I stopped, contemplating each word, and I started to feel like an hour wasn’t enough.

“Give.” Sounds like a command to me. God, GIVE it to me. I want it; I need it. GIVE it to me. Now? Please?
“Us.” Who is this “us” of which we speak? I thought I was doing the praying here, just little old me. Does this apply to everyone? Are we all in on this relationship with you, Lord?
“This day.” This one really got me going. This day. That means today. Today only? I can’t ponder the mistakes of yesterday or the worries of tomorrow? Can I ask for more than today’s needs?
“Our daily bread.” Here we go again. Daily. That means I really shouldn’t be worrying about what may or may not happen in the future, right? And bread, of all things. Bread. Bread is the staple, the simple, the ordinary. It is all and everything we need, especially when it is truly Bread; Jesus, the Bread of Life.

You get the idea. Just one line of the Lord’s Prayer was enough to keep me thinking and praying much longer than I intended. It left me pondering the truth that I must live in the moment with God, not worrying about what I would eat or drink or wear. (Matthew 6:34) God is in the provisions business, bigtime. He wants me to remember that.

When we ask God to give us this day our daily bread, we need to do it with sincerity, and with expectant faith. He wants us to rely on Him for all our needs, and to trust Him in this moment.

Are you bold enough to pray this today? Do you trust Him to provide for you, just for today, for this moment?

Spend a few moments with this: Give us this day, our daily bread.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

