living (and dying) without regrets

Dear Brother,

Here I live without a house, I get up without an alarm clock, I pray without a church, I hunt without a license, I am happy without friends, I study languages without teachers, I have no days without struggles, I grow old without anyone noticing it, I will die without regrets.

When are you going to come and join me?

A letter from Antonio to his younger sibling Eliodoro, written from Burma in 1929. Antonio dies of Malaria there at the age of 30. As for Eliodoro? A PIME missionary priest, he dies a martyr’s death in 1955, slain by Chinese guerillas.

Leave a Reply

