of spies and saints

Of course I’ve heard of Fat (Shrove) Tuesday, Ash Wednesday, Holy Saturday, and Good Friday. But only today did I discover another Catholic “named” day – Spy Wednesday.

It’s today – Wednesday of Holy Week – a day on which we recall that Judas Iscariot conspired with the Sanhedrin to betray Jesus for thirty silver coins.

Whenever I think of Judas, I feel, not surprisingly, uneasy. It’s not just the fact that he betrayed Jesus, for Peter did that too. It’s not even that Jesus said it would have been better for him had he never been born (and that’s pretty rough stuff.) What troubles me most about Judas is his utter and complete despair – the fact that he fell and would not get up.

Frequently, I think a lot like Judas did. I seek the glory of Heaven and want a Redeemer who will make me happy in this life. I want to be rewarded for my hard work. I want to see earthly results. I betray Jesus in my thoughts, words and deeds – every time I sin.

My prayer is that I never imitate Judas in his final, fatal flaw. I pray that I will always run to Jesus and beg forgiveness for my betrayals.

Archbishop Fulton Sheen said it well: ‘And the great tragedy of the life of Judas, one of the twelve, is that he might have been Saint Judas.”

Today, let’s pray for the grace to have not just the sorrow of the world, but the sorrow of true faith, and the grace of hope, always hope.

One thought on “of spies and saints

  1. Pingback: costly love « The PIME Missionaries of North America

Leave a Reply

