pay attention!

This guest post comes from Fr. Christopher Guy Snyder, PIME, administrator of All Saints Parish in southwest Detroit.

It was bound to happen sooner or later. I just had gotten so “used to” things that I kind of forgot to pay attention to where I was and what I was doing.

Last week I got my first speeding ticket. I was driving down Telegraph Rd. near my mom’s house, in the middle of nowhere (no schools, very few houses). An Enrique Iglesias song began to play and it was a quick-tempo one. Without realizing it, I went from 55 mph (the legal speed limit) to 66 mph as I sang and danced to the music. But what I failed to realize, the lone policeman on duty in Erie that day sure did! So with 2 points and a $100 fine I am now paying very close attention to the speed limits. If only I had done that before I would have had more and better possibilities for that $100, but now it’s too late.

As we begin Holy Week, don’t make the same mistake that I did by speeding! Make a concerted effort to realize the depth and reality of each of our Holy Week celebrations. Actively participate rather than just absent-mindedly moving forward, “used to” your responses at Mass. Let God fill your heart with his grace rather than being reminded afterwards of the grace that you missed out on for laz-ness, inattention, etc. Decide to be attentive before rather than after… and in this way you can enjoy the fullness of our salvation mystery!

May God bless, and have a blessed and fruitful Holy Week!
~Father Christopher

Leave a Reply

