think, pray, repeat

Two weeks from now, we’ll be one day into our Lenten journey. Have you given Lent any thought yet?

I feel like I’ve just put away the Christmas decorations, and it’s almost Lent already?!? Being a last-minute kinda gal, I don’t normally do much advance prep for Lent, but due to some unusual circumstances this week, I’ve actually been giving the season a little thought.

The circumstances? I been having a lot of elbow pain lately, and a visit to the doctor on Monday confirmed what I suspected: I’ve got a chronic case of “mouse elbow.” I was expecting a prescription for anti-inflammatory meds and maybe some exercise instructions. Instead my doctor instructed me to DO NOTHING for three days.

DO NOTHING???

She said the cure was rest (that and making some adjustments to my computer workstation.) She told me to take a few days off work, put my arm in a sling, and avoid the computer and even cooking and cleaning! (I especially liked that last part!)

I tried my best to be obedient. I took the time off work, expecting to enjoy the unexpected break. I did, to a degree, but I soon began to feel antsy. I went to the mall, but my usual shopping cure didn’t ease my angst. I watched my favorite TV shows, but I soon lost interest. I did some much needed tidying up around my house, but, remembering doc’s orders to take it easy, I really couldn’t accomplish much. Surfing the internet was out of the question. What to do?

It had been awhile since I had spent time alone with myself, at least time alone without writing and using the computer. Almost by default, I discovered two activities that did not require a computer or the use of my arm: thinking and praying.

I did a little of both, and I’m happy to report I haven’t forgotten how.

It was good to do some pondering, about my life, where I am and where I’m going. It was even better to pray about it, and ask God where He’d like to lead me.

Which leads me to Lent.

It’s almost here. Taking some time — ahead of time — to consider how God might be calling me to grow this year gave me an opportunity to consider some interesting options. I didn’t plan a retreat, but I was given one, and it was a blessing.

You may not be able to take several days off, but you can certainly “retreat” from the world a bit and spend some time alone. Give it a try. We’ll still be here when you get back. 🙂

One thought on “think, pray, repeat

  1. Nice post. I’ll have to take the time this week to really consider what needs to be done in my life. I may even do more than think and pray about it. Thank you for being a motivating factor in my life. I just love reading your posts. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

